Crockpot Roast Beef

One of our first wedding gifts was a beautiful, big, black crock pot from Tim’s boss.  Then we got another one from a family at church–it was beautiful, big, and white.  Then we got another one from my cousin…beautiful, big, red.  Who needs shoes and a purse when you can match your crockpot to your outfit on any given day of the week?  It was amazing.

It took me about six months to decide which one to keep, and then another month to work up the nerve to use it for the first time (but what if I get it dirty?!). 

I wish I’d done it all sooner.  My crockpot gave birth to a roast so moist, so fall-apart tender, and so flavorful–and I didn’t even have to help it breathe!

Here’s the recipe:

Place in crockpot:
1 3-4 lb beef roast (any cut)
2 small onions, whole or 1 large onion, halved (I discovered that there is no need to chop or slice onions that are going to be cooked soft–in soups, broths, etc.  Save yourself the sting!)
1/2 cup water
1/2 package dry onion soup mix
1 Tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
1 Tablespoon Dijon (or spicy) mustard
1-2 beef bullion cubes

Cover, cook on high 3-4 hours or low 8 hours.

Just before serving, remove roast, add 1 Tablespoon flour to the liquid in the crockpot, and simmer 5 minutes (use more flour for a thicker gravy).

Best of all, I used the leftover roast to make a quick, easy, excellent beef stroganoff   later in the week!

, , ,

  1. #1 by Grace on July 1, 2010 - 6:15 pm

    Awesome, thanks for posting about how to make a pot roast!! I’ve never done it, and I totally relate to not wanting to get your brand-new crock pot dirty. 🙂

Leave a Reply

